ANOTHER Top Democratic Challenger Drops, Will Not Oppose Trump In 2020

The Democrat Party may not have such a large nomination pool come next year. Two top potential candidates have pulled their name from consideration.

As Politico reports, former Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick is calling close advisors and allies informing them of his decision not to run.

Former Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick is calling close allies and informing them he is not running for president in 2020, sources close to the governor tell POLITICO.

Patrick informed staff and advisers of his decision Tuesday, the sources say, with an announcement to come as soon as this week.


Patrick‘s supporters saw him as having the right resume to challenge Donald Trump — someone outside the fray of Washington politics, with a background in business but also as a seasoned prosecutor, a mix of experiences that could blunt some Republican attacks. His relentlessly upbeat style and lofty rhetoric could serve as an antidote to some of the bitter divisions of the Trump era, they said.

While maintaining a foot in both politics and law, Patrick won both his political races for the governorship of Massachusetts in 2007, succeeding Mitt Romney, and again in 2010.

In addition to Patrick, New York attorney Michael Avenatti announced on Tuesday that he would not be running for his party’s nomination to oppose President Trump. Avenatti cited a consultation with his family as the reason for his change of heart.

“After consultation with my family and at their request, I have decided not to seek the Presidency of the United States in 2020,” Avenatti said in the statement. “I do not make this decision lightly — I make it out of respect for my family. But for their concerns, I would run.”

Here’s a list of potential candidates, in no particular order:

  1. Former Vice President Joe Biden
  2. Former Secretary of State John Kerry
  3. Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders
  4. California Senator Kamala Harris
  5. New Jersey Senator Cory Booker
  6. Massachusetts Senator Elizabeth Warren
  7. Former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg
  8. Former Attorney General Eric Holder
  9. Ohio Senator Sherrod Brown
  10. New York Senator Kirstin Gillibrand
  11. Minnesota Senator Amy Klobuchar
  12. Pennsylvania Senator Bob Casey
  13. Montana Governor Steve Bullock
  14. Maryland Congressman John Delaney
  15. Texas Congressman Beto O’Rourke
  16. Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti
  17. Former Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley
  18. Former Starbucks CEO Howard Schultz
  19. Former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Julian Castro
  20. Lieutenant Governor of California Gavin Newsom
  21. Governor of Colorado John Hickenlooper
  22. Billionaire Hedge Fund Manager Tom Steyer
  23. Oregon Senator Jeff Merkley
  24. California Congressman Eric Swalwell
  25. Massachusetts Congressman Seth Moulton
  26. Ohio Congressman Tim Ryan
  27. Mayor of South Bend Pete Buttigieg
  28. Former Mayor of New Orleans Mitch Landrieu
  29. Governor of New York Andrew Cuomo
  30. Governor of Virginia Terry McAuliffe
  31. Attorney Michael Avenatti
  32. Former Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick
Note: The author of this article has included commentary that expresses an opinion and analysis of the facts.

DISCLAIMER: Views expressed in articles do not necessarily reflect the views held by Sarah Palin.