California Bans State Travel To 5 U.S. States, Says They Won’t Support ‘Bigotry’ And ‘Discrimination’ Against LGBTQ Community

State-funded travel to Florida and four other states has been banned by the state of California, according to AP News.

Florida, Arkansas, Montana, North Dakota, and West Virginia were recently added to the list which totals 17 states that California has now banned State-funded travel.

“Make no mistake: We’re in the midst of an unprecedented wave of bigotry and discrimination in this country — and the State of California is not going to support it,” Democratic Attorney General Rob Bonta stated.

In 2016 lawmakers banned travel to states that expressed discrimination against the LGBTQ community.

These states include Texas, Alabama, Idaho, Iowa, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Kentucky, North Carolina, Kansas, Mississippi, Tennessee.

The five new states have recently created legislation that bans transgender biological males from competing in womens’ sports.

Bonta alleged that lawmakers “would rather demonize trans youth than focus on solving real issues like tackling gun violence beating back this pandemic and rebuilding our economy.”

From AP News:

North Dakota signed into law a bill allowing certain publicly-funded student organizations to restrict LGBTQ students from joining without losing funding.

— Advertisement —

Arkansas passed the first law in the nation to prohibit physicians from providing gender-affirming healthcare to transgender minors — regardless of the wishes of parents or whether a physician deems such care to be medically necessary.

The state law has exemptions for some trips, such as travel needed to enforce California law and to honor contracts signed before the states were added to the list. Travel to conferences or out-of-state training are examples of trips that can be blocked.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here